Station Sponsors


Who is best young chef in East Yorkshire?

The search is on to find the best young chef in Hull and East Yorkshire.

Organised by the Hull and East Riding Hospitality Association and now in its twelfth year, the Copper Saucepan competition seeks to discover the Apprentice Chef of the Year and culminates with a live cook-off as part of the Beverley Food Festival in October.

The winner will receive £350 and a trophy. The runner-up receives £150 and both finalists will also get the chance to spend a day in the kitchens of the acclaimed Winteringham Fields restaurant alongside celebrity chef Colin McGurran, twice a winner on the Great British Menu television series.

2017 Copper Saucepan winner Ellie Tuttle and runner-up Reece Brady Temple

There is no upper age limit for participants – the competition is open to anyone currently working in the catering industry with four years or less experience. An entry form is available on the HEYHA website ( Deadline for entries is August 5.

With their entry forms chefs will be asked to devise a three-course menu which reflects their flair, skill and the best of local East Yorkshire food, with either the starter or the main course featuring fish, seafood or local pork. 

Those selected will then go forward to a cook-off hosted by East Riding College in Beverley on Monday, August 20, at which two finalists will be chosen. The two finalists will then be invited to prepare a main course featuring fish or seafood and a dessert in 40 minutes on the main stage at Beverley Food Festival at 1:30pm on Sunday October 7.

Launching this year’s competition, Paul Vinsen, chairman of the hospitality association (HEYHA), said: “This competition is designed to encourage and showcase the up-and-coming young talents of the industry. Catering has become a popular career choice, thanks to the power of television and the celebrities it creates, and now more than ever we are seeing some real talent coming through at a young age.”

Past winners of the Copper Saucepan trophy have gone on to further their careers, working in some of the region’s finest restaurants. “With the competition going from strength to strength, we’re really hoping for a bumper entry,” said Mr Vinsen.

Previous winners have been: 2007 Danny Holt (Lazaat Restaurant and Bar), 2008 Kevin Riding (Beverley Tickton Grange), 2009 Shane Tate (Lairgate Hotel), 2010 Jamie Park (The Pipe and Glass Inn), 2011 Alex James (Mill House Restaurant Skidby), 2012 Michael Flower (Hallmark Hotel, Hull), 2013 Matthew Lee (The Pipe and Glass Inn), 2014 Michael Moughton (The Star @ Sancton), 2015 James Workman (The Light Dragoon at Etton), 2016 Connor Berney (Ashbourne Hotel) and 2017 Ellie Tuttle (Cerrutis Restaurant).