Thursday 6 April 2023

NEXT MONTH’S local elections will see a number of long-standing and current councillors standing down from East Riding Council. In Beverley Rural ward, for instance, sitting Conservative councillors Kevin Beaumont and Bernard Gateshill will be absent from the ballot papers. Former Conservative, now Independent councillor, Paul Nickerson is another not to be standing; although in his case that has been public knowledge for some time.

Elsewhere, former council Leader Richard Burton is not standing in Bridlington Central and Old Town while well-known faces, Cllr Jane Evison, the current portfolio holder for economic growth and tourism, who represents East Wolds and Coastal, and Cllr Julie Abraham, long serving councillor for South Hunsley Ward, are also stepping down.

Locally, nine candidates will contest three seats in Beverley Rural: Wendy Cross, John Fawcett and Clare Wildey for Labour; Diana Stewart, a sitting councillor, Paul Smith and Jeremy Wilcock for the Liberal Democrats; and Madeleine Horton, Richard Royal and Richard Warren for the Conservatives.

In Minster & Woodmansey Ward, which elects three councillors, sitting councillors Kerri Harold and David Elvidge stand again for the Conservatives, along with Harry Bulmer; Peter Astell, Tom Astell and Eliza Whitaker stand for the Liberal Democrats, Ron Laden, Margaret Pinder and Tony Maione for Labour; and John Ottaway for the Alliance for Democracy and Freedom.

In Beverley St Mary’s ward, which also has three seats, sitting councillors David Boynton, Denis Healy and Linda Johnson stand for the Lib-Dems; Elaine Aird, Bethany Needham and Peter Stevens for the Conservatives; and Jim Whitfield and Ann Willis for Labour.

The full list of East Riding Council candidates and candidates standing in parish council elections can be viewed here