Station Sponsors


Super League: KR on a roll …

Beverley FM’s new signing, rugby league reporter IAN JUDSON, previews Friday night’s games for our two Super League clubs . . .

Hull Kingston Rovers travel to the DW Stadium on Friday for an important game against current champions Wigan Warriors (7.45pm), buoyed by their home victory in the derby against local rivals and in-form Hull FC last time out.

Rovers coach Tony Smith has named his 19-man squad, with just one change as centre Jimmy Keinhorst returns to the squad at the expense of hooker Tommy Lee.

Having moved off the foot of the table with their derby win last week, there is a confident mood at KCOM Craven Park right now, as well as a desire to right the wrongs from the last game against Adrian Lam’s side, who profited in a 19-18 victory thanks mainly due to an outrageous decision to disallow a try for Chris Atkin which would have won the game for the Robins.

Since that heartbreaking defeat Rovers have beaten Smith’s former club Warrington Wolves (26-24) and were edged out in the capital against a London Broncos side who, like Rovers, are fighting for their Super League lives, before the near miraculous victory against Hull FC, so they will feel justifiably, if quietly confident of getting something out of their trip across the Pennines.

With a slight advantage of some extra rest time having played on Thursday night last week, compared to the Warriors who played on Sunday afternoon, that would also seem to give the travelling support even more cause for optimism, and a hope that the recent resurgence since Smith replaced Tim Sheens at the helm can continue.

Hull KR squad: Adam Quinlan, Craig Hall, Ben Crooks, Jimmy Keinhorst, Ryan Shaw, Danny McGuire, Robbie Mulhern, Mose Masoe, Joel Tomkins, Weller Hauraki, Mitch Garbutt, Chris Atkin, George Lawler, Kane Linnett, Josh Drinkwater, Daniel Murray, Harvey Livett, Luis Johnson, Matt Parcell

Wigan Warriors squad: Joe Bullock, Joe Burgess, Liam Byrne, Tony Clubb, Morgan Escare, Liam Farrell, Oliver Gildart, Chris Hankinson, Zak Hardaker, Willie Isa, Thomas Leuluai, Liam Marshall, Romain Navarette, Oliver Partington, Sam Powell, Jarrod Sammut, Dan Sarginson, Morgan Smithies, George Williams

Referee: M. Griffiths