Hull City 1-3 Sheffield United

Hull City suffered defeat against Sheffield United, losing 3-1 at the MKM Stadium. Despite Keane Lewis-Potter netting for the Tigers, a brace by John Egan and a header from Billy Sharp secured the Blades all three points in the SkyBet Championship.

Grant McCann made one change to the starting XI that faced Blackburn Rovers in midweek, with George Moncur coming in for Greg Docherty. For the opposition, the Blades made a last-minute starting change as Rhian Brewster replaced Sander Berge, who was injured in the warm-up.

The Tigers started the brighter of the two teams as Matt Smith volleyed an effort over, while Mallik Wilks saw his header held by Robin Olsen. At the other end, Jacob Greaves did well to block Brewster’s effort.

The visitors opened the scoring in the 17th minute as Morgan Gibbs-White picked out Sharp at the back post, who converted from close range. Moncur searched for an equaliser immediately, but his effort was well blocked by Egan.

Both goalkeepers then produced decent saves as Matt Ingram denied Gibbs-White and Brewster, in between Olsen parrying Richard Smallwood’s long-range effort. Moncur’s set-pieces created opportunities for the Tigers as Di’Shon Bernard headed narrowly wide, before Lewie Coyle volleyed over from the edge of the penalty area.

Sheffield United received a penalty towards the end of the first half as Greaves was adjudged to have fouled Sharp, according to referee Dean Whitestone. The striker stepped up himself, but Ingram guessed the correct way as he pushed the spot-kick around the right-hand post.

To read the full report – click here.

Hull City: Matt Ingram; Lewie Coyle, Di’Shon Bernard, Jacob Greaves, Callum Elder; Richard Smallwood (C), George Moncur (Tyler Smith 70’), Matt Smith (Andy Cannon 46’); Mallik Wilks, Josh Magennis (George Honeyman 46’), Keane Lewis-Potter.
Subs not used: Nathan Baxter, Josh Emmanuel, Ryan Longman, Sean McLoughlin.

Sheffield United: Robin Olsen; George Baldock, John Egan, Ben Davies (Chris Basham 85’), Rhys Norrington-Davies; John Fleck, Conor Hourihane (Adlène Guedioura 65’), Morgan Gibbs-White; Rhian Brewster, Billy Sharp (C) (Oli McBurnie 75’), Ben Osborn.
Subs not used: Wes Foderingham, Oliver Norwood, Jayden Bogle, Iliman Ndiaye.

Attendance: 14,461