Station Sponsors


Clean sheet and a cup win for City

Tranmere Rovers 0 – 3 Hull City (Carabao Cup, August 13)

Hull City sealed a place in the second round of the Carabao Cup after beating League One outfit Tranmere Rovers 3-0 last night.

Tigers manager Grant McCann rang the changes after Saturdays win over Reading by naming a side that included 11 changes and seven full debuts for summer signings.

It was Jon Toral who put City ahead after just 19 seconds, heading home Brandon Fleming’s cross. David Milinkovic then doubled the visitors’ advantage with his first goal for the club over a year after arriving in East Yorkshire from Genoa. 

Then, on the stroke of half-time defender Ryan Tafazoll, who was among those making their first start for McCann’s side, headed in from a corner to give City a comfortable three-goal cushion heading into the break.

Tranmere started the second half brightly and almost pulled a goal back through Blackett-Taylor’s stunning effort but his 25-yarder came back off Ingram’s crossbar.

Blackett-Taylor then hit the side-netting after a smart piece of play down the left and home appeals for a penalty were turned down when Monthe’s shot was blocked inside the area.

A double change just after the hour saw Tom Eaves and Nouha Dicko replace Magennis and Milinkovic before Ingram pulled off a good save to keep out Paul Mullin’s curling shot.

A final substitution saw Daniel Batty come on for Toral, and it was Batty’s pass that looked to have set Da Silva on route to goal until a crude challenge from George Ray brought a yellow card the Tranmere man’s way.

Liam Ridehalgh sent a diving header against the outside of Ingram’s near-post as the home side’s quest for a consolation goal continued, while at the other end McKenzie’s shot took a deflection on its way just wide as the clock ran down.

Hull City: Matt Ingram; Robbie McKenzie, Matthew Pennington, Ryan Tafazolli, Brandon Fleming; George Honeyman ©, Jon Toral (Daniel Batty 71), Leonardo Da Silva Lopes; Josh Bowler, David Milinkovic (Nouha Dicko 62), Josh Magennis (Tom Eaves 62).

Subs Not Used: George Long, Reece Burke, Jarrod Bowen, Stephen Kingsley.